Five of the World’s Most Famous awards


Awards are supplied for several reasons too to many varied types of people. From kids winning a decoration in a school sports to some star carrying home an Oscar, decorations and awards are given outside for over 100 years. Now they continue to take a substantial role in our own lives. No matter they are handed out fordecorations have one main goal, to award excellence in a chosen area.

Academy Award

Also referred to as the Oscars, the Academy Awards oscars are held during the first section of the year to detect movies that demonstrated that the former calendar year. The awards have been held 1929 and it is considered one the very notable award festivals in the entire planet, being telecast live in over 200 nations. In the current 2011 Academy awards that the film “The King’s Speech” won the Oscar for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actress, with this accolade visiting British actor, Colin Firth.


A Nobel Prize is a worldwide award supplied by Native American committees recognising cultural and scientific advancement. The Nobel Prize was initially awarded in 1895, named after a Swedish chemist title Alfred Nobel, who invented dynamite. There are prizes in mathematics, chemistry, literature, medicine and peace and each one of these is regarded as the greatest awards to become within these areas. The decoration could be a gold trophy, a level in addition to a quantity of money, which fluctuates based on the Nobel Foundation’s income within this year.

The Medal of Honour

The Medal of Honour is going to be the greatest military award given from the USA authorities and is awarded from the President. Over fifty percent of those awards given because the Second World War are given posthumously as a consequence of personality the award is well known for, that is for outstanding acts of bravery attained by means of a person when placing their life at risk. There are 3 variants of this award, for its Navy, the Air Force and the Army.

The Victoria Cross

Still another military honour, The Victoria Cross is awarded for valour during conflict and is awarded to members of the Commonwealth armies. It was introduced 1856 by Queen Victoria to honor acts of bravery during the Crimean War. Since that time it’s been given 1 million three hundred and fifty five occasions. Within Britain it is given from the King or Queen, and above other Commonwealth countries by the Head of State.

The FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is given to the winner of this World Cup soccer final, a soccer tournament held every four years because of its rival nation’s senior men’s groups. The first championship was held 1930, and also with the exclusion of a break during the 2nd World War, it’s continued to be held as. It comprises 32 teams and has been viewed on television by women and men from all over the globe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *